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700  Certification Maintenance Regulations 

 

701   Purpose 
 
Once certified, all professional guardians and agencies must maintain their certification through 
ongoing continuing education and reporting requirements as identified in these Regulations.  
 

702  Definitions  
 
 
702.1 "Agency" means any legal entity in the State of Washington authorized by its formation 

documents to act as a fiduciary, guardian, or limited guardian.  (Revised 3-8-10). 
 
702.2 “Designated CPG” means the certified professional guardians working for an agency who 

have the final decision-making authority for incapacitated persons or their estate on behalf of 
the agency.  The designated CPG is responsible for the actions of the agency(ies) for which 
they serve as designated CPG (Adopted 1-9-12) 

 
702.3 "Decision-making or the use of independent judgment on behalf of others" in GR 23(d)(1)(v) is 

not limited to incapacitated persons.  (Adopted 8-10-09) 
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704.4 “Fees and Filing Requirements Table” refers to the listing of Board-approved fees for the 

various CPG and agency application and reporting requirements identified in these 
Regulations.  The Fees and Filing Requirements Table is accessible to the public online at 
http://www.courts.wa.gov/programs_orgs/guardian.   

 
704.5 “GR 23” refers to Washington State Court General Rule 23 which establishes the scope and 

authority of the CPG Board, minimal qualifications for guardian and agency applicants, and 
mandatory ongoing guardian and agency disclosure requirements.  Washington State Court 
Rules are found at www.courts.wa.gov/court_rules.       

 
 

111 703  Annual Certification Fees and GR 23(e) Disclosure  
 

 
111703.1 Schedule of Fees.  The Board shall determine a schedule of fees for application, annual 

certification, and other processing as may be required.  All fees shall be published annually 
by the Board in the Fees and Filing Requirements Table at 
www.courts.wa.gov/programs_orgs/guardian.  Every certified professional guardian (CPG) 
and Certified Professional Guardian Agency (Aagency) shall pay one annual fee, based on 
the state fiscal year (July 1 – June 30), through the Administrative Office of the Courts 
(AOC).  Failure to pay the required fees shall subject the CPG or Agency to revocation of 
existing certification or denial of an application for certification.  

 
111.5 Declaration.  Every certified guardian, individual and agency, shall file a Declaration annually, 

on the form provided by the Board, disclosing under oath the information required by GR 
23(e).   

 
111.6 703.2 Annual Certification Fee and DeclarationGR 23(e) Disclosure 

 
111.6.1 703.2.1 Every CPG and Agency must pay an annual certification fee, which must be 

paid to the AOC by August 1 each year. Every certified guardian and agency must 
also submit a GR 23(e) Disclosure by this date.The annual certification fee for 
individuals is $150.00.  In accordance with the state feiscal year, it is due annually 
on August 1.  The Declaration is also due on August 1. 

 
  111.6.2 703.2.2 The Board may establish a tiered annual certification fee structure based 

on guardians and agencies’ exemption from requiring Errors and Omissions 
Insurance, as described in 704.3. The annual certification fee for agencies is 
$150.00.  In accordance with the state fiscal year, it is due annually on August 1.  
The Declaration is also due on August 1.  

 
 
111.6.3 703.2.3 The annual fee for individuals on inactive status is one-half the full annual 

fee.  In accordance with the state fiscal year, it is due annually on August 1.   
 
703.2.4 Failure to pay the annual certification fee and submit the GR 23(e) Disclsoure by 

August 1 will subject the certified guardian or agency to a late fee as identified in 
the Fees and Filing Requirements Table.   

 
111.7 Annual Certification Late Fees and Declaration 

. 

http://www.courts.wa.gov/court_rules
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111.7.1 Failure to pay the annual certification fee and submit the required declaration by 
August 1 will subject the individual to a late fee of $5015050.00. if paid before 
September 1.  

 
111.7.2 Failure to pay the annual certification fee and submit the required declaration by 

September 1 will subject the individual to a late fee of $100.00 if paid before October 
1.  

 
111.7.3 Failure to pay the annual certification fee and submit the required declaration by 

August 1 will subject the agency to a late fee of $50.00 if paid before September 1.    
 
111.7.4 Failure to pay the annual certification fee and submit the required declaration by 

September 1 will subject the agency to a late fee of $100.00 paid before October 1.  
 

111.8 703.3 Failure to Pay the Annual Certification Fee and File the Required GR 23 (e) 
DisclosureDeclaration 

 
111.8.1 703.3.1 Failure to pay the required annual certification fee and late fee and submit 

the required declaration GR 23 (e) Disclosure by October 1 shall subject the CPG or 
Agency to revocation of certification by the Board.  

 
111.8.2  703.3.2 To effect such decertification, the Board shall send a written notice of non-

compliance to the CPG or Agency by certified mail, directed to the CPG’s or Agency’s 
last known address as maintained on the records of the Administrative Office of the 
Courts.  The notice shall advise the CPG or Agency of the pendency of decertification 
for failure to pay the required annual certification fee and late fee and submit the 
required declaration.  The notice shall further advise the CPG or Agency that if the 
CPG or Agency believes that an administrative error has been made and that the 
CPG or Agency is not in default on the obligation to submit the annual certification fee 
and late fee and the required declaration, the CPG or Agency may file a petition 
requesting an administrative hearing.  The petition shall set forth in detail the facts 
supporting the CPG’s or Agency’s claim that an administrative error has been made 
by the Board and must be signed under penalty of perjury.  The CPG or Agency must 
file the petition within ten calendar days of notice of the pendency of decertification.  
(Amended 11-8-04) 

 
111.8.3 703.3.3 If a petition is filed, the Chair of the Board shall appoint a three-member 

Review Panel to conduct a hearing on the petition.  In the sole discretion of the 
Review Panel, the hearing may be held by telephone.  The Review Panel shall make 
written findings and a recommendation as to whether the petition should be granted.  
The findings and recommendation of the Review Panel shall be filed with the Board 
and served by first-class mail on the CPG or Agency.  (Amended 11-8-04) 

 
111.8.4 703.3.4 The Board shall review the decision of the Review Panel and shall make a 

decision approving or denying the petition.  If the petition is denied, then the Board 
shall decertify the CPG or Agency.  The members of the Review Panel shall not 
participate in the decision of the Board.  A copy of the Board’s order shall be sent by 
certified mail to the CPG or Agency.  Any such order shall be final.  (Amended 11-8-
04) 

 

117 704  Insurance   
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117.1 704.1 Purpose.  The purpose of this regulation is to provide coverage for damages resulting 
from unintentional errors and omissions of the guardian and its employees. 

 
117.2 704.2 Requirements.  Certified professional guardians (guardians) and certified professional 

guardian agencies (agencies) shall maintain a minimum of $500,000.00 of errors and 
omissions insurance which covers the acts of the guardian or agency, and employees of the 
guardian or agency, unless exempted or waived by this regulation. 

  
117.3 704.3 Exemptions.  Guardians or agencies with 25 or fewer guardianship case appointments 

at one time and with less than $500,000.00 total countable guardianship assets under 
management are exempt from the requirement of maintaining errors and omissions 
insurance as set forth in this regulation.  With respect to this regulation, only those 
appointments held in the name of the guardian or agency shall be counted toward the 
caseload or monetary limit.  

 
117.4 704.4 Countable Guardianship Assets  

 
117.4.1704.4.1 “Countable guardianship assets” shall consist of all real property, money, 

stocks, bonds, promissory notes and other investments in all of the guardianship 
estates currently managed by the guardian or agency.  The value of an asset shall be 
its fair market value.  In determining the value of an asset, the value as determined by 
a county assessor, or public price listed on a recognized exchange, may be used as 
its fair market value.  The value of an asset shall not be reduced by the amount of 
any encumbrance on the asset.  Insurance policies and other securities shall be 
included at face value or as listed on a recognized exchange.  Countable 
guardianship assets shall not include burial trusts, pensions, or personal property 
other than as described in this regulation. 

 
117.4.2704.4.2  Issues as to whether or not an asset should be included in the countable 

guardianship assets of a guardian or agency shall be resolved with a preference 
toward including the asset as a countable guardianship asset. 

 
117.5 704.5 Annual ReportE & O Insurance DeclarationReport 

 
117.5.1 704.5.1. By August 1 each year, every guardian and agency shall file with the Board 

an E & O Insurance Declarationa declaration signed under penalty of perjury, on a 
form approved by the Board, stating that the guardian or agency either maintains a 
policy of errors and omissions insurance, or is exempt from said requirement, or has 
petitioned for and received a waiver based on a determination by the Board that it is 
impractical for the guardian or agency to comply with this regulation and the guardian 
or agency has provided a satisfactory  alternative that meets the purpose of this 
regulation. 

 
117.5.2 704.5.2. A guardian or agency who is required by this regulation to carry an errors 

and omissions policy shall include a declaration page from its policy of errors and 
omissions insurance of not less than five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) with 
the guardian’s or agency’s annual declaration signed under penalty of perjury.   

  
117.5.3 704.5.3 At any time, the Board may request information from the guardian or agency 

to determine whether the guardian or agency meets the requirements of this 
regulation.  Failure of the guardian or agency to cooperate may subject the 
guardian or agency to disciplinary action under this regulation. 

 
117.6 704.6 Duty to Report Loss of Insurance or Change of Status   
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117.6.1 704.6.1 A guardian or agency shall report to the Board in writing any lapse or 
cancellation of errors and omission coverage within fifteen (15) calendar days of the 
notice to the guardian or agency of that cancellation or lapse and provide a copy of 
the notice of non-renewal from the insurance company.  The guardian or agency 
shall have forty-five (45) calendar days from notice to the guardian or agency of that 
cancellation or lapse to meet the requirements of this regulation and to file a 
declaration under penalty of perjury on a form approved by the Board stating that 
the guardian or agency meets the requirements of regulation 117.   

 
117.6.2 704.6.2 A guardian or agency who has previously claimed exempt status pursuant to 

this regulation, whose caseload changes during the year so that the guardian or 
agency is no longer exempt , shall within fifteen (15) calendar days of the status 
change file a declaration under penalty of perjury with the Board on a form 
approved by the Board stating how the guardian or agency meets the requirements 
of this regulation. 

 
117.7 704.7 Failure to Comply 

 
117.7.1 704.7.1 Failure to comply with this regulation in any part may subject the guardian 

and/or agency to the disciplinary sanctions listed in the Disciplinary Regulations, 
including suspension or revocation of certification.  

 
117.7.2 704.7.2 Failure to submit the required E & O Insurance Declarationdeclaration by 

August 1 will subject the guardian and/or agency to a special service fee. of 
$15050.00 if paid before September 1.  

 
117.7.3 Failure to submit the required declaration by September 1 will subject the guardian 

and/or agency to a special service fee of $100.00 if paid before October 1.  
 
117.7.4 3 Failure to pay the required annual certification fee and late fee and submit the 

required declaration by October 1 shall subject the CPG and/or Agency to revocation 
of certification by the Board.  

 
117.7.5 704.7.3 In the event of a guardian’s or agency’s failure to comply with this regulation, 

the Board shall send a written notice of noncompliance with this regulation to the 
guardian or agency by certified mail, directed to the last known address as 
maintained on the records of the Administrative Office of the Courts.  The notice shall 
advise the CPG or Agency of the pendency of decertification for failure to submit the 
required declaration.  The notice shall further advise the CPG or Agency that if the 
CPG or Agency believes that an administrative error has been made and that the 
CPG or Agency is not in default on the obligation to submit the required declaration, 
the CPG or Agency may file a petition requesting an administrative hearing.  The 
petition must set forth facts either explaining how the guardian or agency has 
complied with this regulation or, if the guardian or agency acknowledges that there 
has not been compliance with the regulation, then the facts in support of why the 
Board should not take disciplinary action against the guardian or agency.  The 
petition must be signed under penalty of perjury by the guardian.  The guardian or 
agency must file the petition with the Board within ten (10) calendar days of notice of 
noncompliance by the Board.   

  
117.7.6 704.7.4 If a petition is filed, the Chair of the Board shall appoint a three-member 

Review Panel to conduct a hearing on the petition.  In the sole discretion of the 
Review Panel, the hearing may be held by telephone.  The Review Panel shall make 
written findings and a recommendation as to whether the petition should be granted.  
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The findings and recommendation of the Review Panel shall be filed with the Board 
and served by first-class mail on the CPG or Agency.   

 
117.7.7704.7.5 The Board shall review the decision of the Review Panel and shall make a 

decision approving or denying the petition.  If the petition is denied, then the Board 
shall decertify the CPG or Agency.  The members of the Review Panel shall not 
participate in the decision of the Board.  A copy of the Board’s order shall be sent by 
certified mail to the CPG or Agency.  Any such order shall be final. 

 
117.8 704.8 Waiver  

 
117.8.1704.8.1 A guardian may request a waiver from the requirement in this regulation that 

the guardian maintain errors and omissions insurance.  (The term “guardian” in this 
section refers to either an individual or an agency.)  To be eligible for a waiver, the 
guardian must show that it is impractical for the guardian to obtain such insurance 
and that the guardian will provide a satisfactory alternative to such insurance. 

 
117.8.2704.8.2 It is impractical for a guardian to obtain errors and omissions insurance if a 

guardian provides documentation and verifies under penalty of perjury that the 
guardian has applied and has been rejected by at least two insurance carriers for 
errors and omissions coverage or that the guardian has had errors and omissions 
insurance cancelled by the insurance provider or underwriter. 

 
 A satisfactory alternative to such insurance is one which provides an adequate 

guarantee that any damages resulting from the unintentional errors and omissions 
of a guardian and its employees will be compensated in like amounts as the amount 
of coverage required under this regulation for errors and omissions insurance.  
Such alternatives may include a general purpose bond in the amount of $500,000, 
or evidence of security in the amount of $500,000, or such other alternative that 
provides for financial responsibility in the amount of $500,000.   

 
117.8.3704.8.3 To request a waiver, the guardian must file a written petition with the Board 

stating why it is impractical for the guardian to obtain insurance and describing the 
alternative to insurance that the guardian will provide.  The petition must be signed 
by the guardian under penalty of perjury.  If the petitioner is an agency, one of the 
designated guardians for the agency must sign the petition.  The petitioner must 
submit copies of the denial or cancellation of coverage received by the petitioner, 
and copies of the applications submitted by the guardian for said coverage.  The 
petitioner may include other written materials in support of its petition.  The 
petitioner must file the petition and supporting materials electronically with the 
Board unless permission is granted by the Board to file materials in a paper format. 

 
117.8.4704.8.4 Petitions will be reviewed by the Financial Responsibility Committee of the 

Board.  The members of such committee shall be appointed by the Chair of the 
Board.  The Chair of the Board shall designate one of the members as the Chair of 
the committee.  The term of all members, including the Chair of the committee, shall 
be one year. 

 
117.8.5704.8.5 The Financial Responsibility Committee shall report to the Board on the 

merits of the petition.   
 
117.8.6 704.8.6 The Board may approve the petition, with or without conditions, or refer the 

petition back to the Financial Responsibility Committee for additional information, or 
deny the petition. 
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117.8.7704.8.7 If the Board denies a petition, the petitioner will be given written notice of the 
denial and the right to appeal under these regulations. 

 
117.9704.9 Right to Appeal the Board’s Denial of a Waiver 

 
117.9.1704.9.1 Every petitioner shall have a right of appeal before an Appeals Panel.  
 
117.9.2704.9.2 A petitioner may appeal the Board’s denial of a waiver of the insurance 

requirement in this regulation by submitting a written request to:  
 Certified Professional Guardian Board 

Administrative Office of the Courts 
PO Box 41170 
Olympia WA 98504-1170  

 
 The request must:  
 
 Be filed within sixty (60) calendar days of the date of the denial of the waiver by the 

Board;  
 
 Iidentify the petitioner; and  
 
 Eexplain fully the grounds on which the petitioner bases an appeal of the denial of 

waiver.  
 
117.9.3704.9.3 The Chair shall appoint an Appeals Panel made up of three Board members 

who did not serve on the Financial Responsibility Committee.  The Chair shall name 
one member of the panel as the chair of the panel. 

 
117.9.4704.9.4 The petitioner may submit to the AOC additional written material which may 

include statements, correspondence, affidavits, and memoranda of law or other 
information which the petitioner believes will assist the Appeals Panel in reviewing the 
denial of the waiver. All written materials must be received by the AOC within 30 days 
after the filing of the notice of appeal.  AOC will supply the Appeals Panel with the 
appeal, all attachments, and all other material relating to the original petition for a 
waiver and the appeal.  The Appeals Panel may use written stipulations.  

 
 The date of review of the appeal will be not more than sixty (60) calendar days from 

the date of receipt of the appellant’s materials by the AOC. The AOC will notify the 
appellant of the scheduled date for the consideration of the appeal.  

 
 An Appeals Panel will not consider any request for appeal that does not strictly 

comply with the times stated, unless waived by the Appeals Panel. Upon a showing 
of good cause, the Appeals Panel may waive the time requirements. 

 
 The assigned Appeals Panel shall consider the written material submitted. The 

Appeals Panel may, in its sole discretion, make a decision based solely on the written 
record, or it may request an oral presentation by the appellant.  The appellant shall be 
informed of the place, time, and duration of an oral presentation.  Telephone 
conferences may be held at the discretion of the Appeals Panel.  

 
 Within twenty (20) calendar days after the date of review of the appeal, the assigned 

Appeals Panel shall file with the AOC written findings of fact, conclusions of law, and 
a recommendation to the Board to approve or deny the appeal.  
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 The AOC shall notify the petitioner of the findings, conclusions, and recommendation 
of the Appeals Panel within five (5) business days.   

 
 Within sixty (60) calendar days, the Board shall review the findings, conclusions and 

recommendation of the Appeals Panel. No further oral or written argument will be 
allowed the parties, and no further evidence may be submitted to the Board. The 
Board shall adopt, modify, or reverse the findings, conclusions, and recommendation 
of the Appeals Panel. A copy of the Board’s decision, as set forth in the minutes of 
the Board meeting or in a separate written decision of the Board, shall be served on 
the appellant by mail within thirty (30) calendar days.  

 
117.10704.9.10 An individual may not practice as a professional guardian unless he or she 

maintains errors and omissions insurance or has been granted a waiver by the Board except 
during any periods that the Board suspends the requirement to maintain errors and omission 
insurance. 

 
117.11704.9.11 Regulation 117 shall not apply to guardians or agencies if the Board determines that 

errors and omissions insurance is not generally available, is cost prohibitive, or for any other 
reason the Board decides to suspend the requirements of this regulation. 

 

118 705  Obligation to Disclose 
 
 
118.1 705.1 Pursuant to GR 23(e), a certified professional guardian or certified agency shall disclose 

to the Board on a continuing basis the circumstances listed in the rule.  Disclosure shall take 
place in writing within forty-five (45) calendar days of the occurrence of the circumstance.  If 
the event is the issuance of a court order, ruling or judgment, then the forty-five (45) calendar 
days shall start to run upon entry of the court order, ruling or judgment.  (Adopted 5-10-04) 

 
118.2705.2 The guardian shall disclose every court order, ruling or judgment of the type described in 

GR 23(e) issued by any judicial officer.  (Adopted 5-10-04) 
 
118.3705.3 The guardian shall disclose every court order, ruling or judgment of the type described in 

GR 23(e) even if the guardian or another party has filed a motion for revision, a motion for 
reconsideration, a notice of appeal, or any other motion or petition requesting a review, 
reconsideration or appeal of the court order, ruling or judgment.  (Adopted 5-10-04) 

 
118.4705.4  Failure to disclose pursuant to GR 23(e) or these regulations shall be grounds for 

discipline of the guardian. (Adopted 5-10-04) 
 

119 706  Changes in Designated Guardians 
 

 
119.1 706.1 Pursuant to General Rule of Court (GR) 23, a certified agency must have at least two 

individual certified professional guardians designated as having final decision-making 
authority for incapacitated persons or their estates (“designated guardians.”)  

 
119.2 706.2 If the agency adds an additional designated CPG, the agency must provide the AOC 

with a an Acceptance of Designated CPG form within 30 days of the addition.  Failure to do 
so may result in disciplinary action. (Adopted 1-9-12) 
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119.3 706.3 If a change in circumstances results in an agency having only one designated guardian, 
the agency shall notify the Board within five (5) calendar days of the change of 
circumstances.  The agency shall have sixty (60) calendar days from the date the agency is 
no longer in compliance with GR 23 to add a designated guardian to the agency.  During that 
sixty-calendar-day period, the agency must file a copy of its board minutes or a board 
resolution designating an additional guardian as a person with decision-making authority for 
incapacitated persons or their estates with the Certified Professional Guardian Board.  If the 
agency fails to meet the requirements of GR 23 and these regulations regarding the required 
number of designated guardians, the Board may decertify the agency.  The Board shall send 
the agency written notice that the Board intends to decertify the agency at least fifteen (15) 
calendar days before the Board takes action.   

 
119.4706.4 If a change in circumstances results in an agency no longer having any designated 

guardians, the agency shall notify the Board within five (5) calendar days of the change of 
circumstances.  The AOC shall send the agency a notice of noncompliance by mail.  The 
notice shall state that the Board will decertify the agency unless within fifteen (15) calendar 
days the agency files proof with the Board that the agency has at least one designated 
guardian.  Said proof shall be in the form of board minutes or a board resolution designating 
a certified professional guardian with decision-making authority for incapacitated persons or 
their estates.  If the agency files proof with the Board that it has one designated guardian, 
then Regulation 119.2706.3 shall apply.  The sixty-day period referenced in Regulation 
119.2706.3 shall be deemed to have commenced on the same date as the fifteen–day period 
in this regulation.  If the agency does not file proof within the fifteen-day period in this 
regulation that the agency has at least one designated guardian, then the Board may 
decertify the agency.   

 
119.5706.5 If a change in circumstances results in an agency having no designated guardians, the 

agency shall within ten (10) calendar days notify any Superior Court that has appointed the 
agency as guardian in a case that is still an active guardianship case.  The agency shall file a 
notice in each active guardianship case stating that the agency has no designated certified 
professional guardian with final decision-making authority for incapacitated persons or their 
estates.  In the notice, the agency shall describe a plan to correct this situation or to 
transition the guardianships to qualified guardians or agencies.  The agency shall file a copy 
of this notice with the Board.   

 
 If the agency fails to file this notice with the court or the Board, the Board may decertify the 

agency.  
 
119.6706.6 The Board may decertify an agency for its failure to file any notice required under 

Regulation 119706.  The Board shall send the agency notice at least fifteen (15) calendar 
days before the Board intends to take such action.   

 
119.7706.7 When an agency is decertified, the Board shall notify the superior courts of the state.  
 
 

112 707 Inactive Status 
 

 
112.1707.1 A CPG or Agency may voluntarily request inactive status by notifying the Board in 

writing of the date the change in status is to be effective and by complying with the 
requirements of this regulation.  AOC staff is authorized to grant inactive status to CPGs or 
Agencies that qualify under these Regulations. AOC staff denials to inactive status request 
must be reviewed and approved by the Certification and Applications Committee.    
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112.2707.2 A CPG on voluntary inactive status by the Board is not required to pay the full annual 
fee, but shall pay in accordance with Regulation 111.6.3703.2.3.  A CPG on voluntary 
inactive status is required to file an E&O Ddeclaration and the GR 23(e) DisclosureAnnual 
Disclosure. 

 
112.3707.3 A CPG on voluntary inactive status may return to active status by filing a petition to 

return to active status with the Board within two (2) years from the date that voluntary 
inactive status was granted.  The CPG must pay the annual fee and meet any additional 
requirements for CPGs.  

 
112.4707.4 A CPG on inactive status longer than two years from the date of transfer to inactive 

status can only be returned to active status after review by the Application Committee.  The 
Application Committee may require the Guardian to complete all or a portion of the initial 
certification process.  

 
112.5707.5 Prior to requesting inactive status, the CPG shall:  

 
112.5.1707.5.1  Comply with all statutory and court-ordered requirements for discharge from 

responsibilities as a guardian in each case in which the CPG has been appointed, 
with the exception that a guardian who is not a member of the incapacitated person’s 
family and who charges fees for carrying out the duties of court-appointed guardian 
may retain guardianship over two incapacitated persons;  

 
112.5.2707.5.2 File with the Board an affidavit showing:  

 
112.5.2.1707.5.2.2 Compliance with these requirements.  

 
112.5.2.2707.5.2.3 The address where communications may be directed to the 

inactive CPG or Agency, and acknowledging a requirement to keep their 
address current with the AOC for 36 months following surrender.  

 
112.5.2.3707.5.2.4 After being placed on inactive status, the former CPG shall not 

accept any new clients or engage in work as a CPG until return to active 
status.  

 
112.5.2.4707.5.2.5 The CPG or Agency shall file the affidavit or declaration required 

by this regulation within sixty (60) calendar days of the date of the written 
notice to the Board of the intent to go on inactive status.   
 

112.6707.6 Failure to file the compliance affidavit or failure to comply with other statutory and court-
ordered requirement shall subject the CPG or Agency to revocation of existing certification.  

 
112.7707.7 The CPG or Agency may revoke the notice of intent to go on inactive status by notifying 

the Board in writing.  
 

113 708  Voluntary Surrender of Certification  
 

 
113.1708.1 A CPG or Agency may voluntarily surrender certification by notifying the Board in writing 

of the date the surrender is to be effective and by complying with the requirements of this 
regulation. AOC staff is authorized to grant inactive status to CPGs or Agencies that qualify 
under these Regulations.  AOC staff denials to inactive status request must be reviewed and 
approved by the Certification and Application Committee. (Adopted 11-12-01) (Amended 1-
13-03)   



Certification Regulations 
New Date 

Page 11 

 
113.2708.2 The surrender of certification shall not be effective until the CPG or Agency has met the 

following requirements:   
 

113.2.1708.2.1 Complied with all statutory and court-ordered requirements for discharge 
from responsibilities as a guardian in each case in which the CPG or Agency has 
been appointed, with the exception that a guardian who is not a member of the 
incapacitated person’s family and who charges fees for carrying out the duties of 
court-appointed guardian may retain guardianship over two incapacitated persons;   

 
113.2.2708.2.2 Filed with the Board an affidavit or declaration signed under penalty of 

perjury stating:   
 

113.2.2.1708.2.2.1 Compliance with these requirements.  
 
113.2.2.2708.2.2.2 The address where communications may be directed to the 

former CPG or Agency, and acknowledging a requirement to keep their 
address current with the AOC for 36 months following surrender.  

 
113.2.2.3708.2.2.3 That after surrender of certification, the former CPG or Agency 

shall not accept any new clients or engage in work as a CPG or Agency 
unless recertified following the rules and regulations applicable to new 
applicants.  

 
113.2.3708.2.3 The CPG or Agency shall file the affidavit or declaration required by this 

regulation within sixty (60) calendar days of the date of the written notice to the Board 
of the intent to surrender certification. 

 
113.3708.3 Failure to file the affidavit or declaration required by this regulation or failure to comply 

with other statutory or court-ordered requirements regarding discharge from responsibilities 
as a guardian shall subject the CPG or Agency to revocation of certification. 

 
113.4708.4 The CPG or Agency may revoke the notice of intent to surrender certification by notifying 

the Board in writing.  
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